Yes, we already know, California labor law requires that employers pay overtime to employees, that a day rate pay scheme is not illegal, at least under wage and overtime laws, as defined in the law (piece-rate compensation - labor code §226.2) and that all nonexempt employees must receive overtime pay at a rate of 1.5 times their regular rate of pay. But how to determine your workdays and workweeks, amount of daily overtime owed, what is the best (easiest) way to count the number of hours you have worked and how to calculate daily and weekly overtime in California? And at all, what are the most basic and the most important labor law changes for 2019 in California? If we skip previous laws, such as the one signed in 2016, which raises the minimum wage to $11 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees, and $12 for businesses with more than 26 employees, there has been changed (amended) just some laws related to agricultural workers, minorities, immigrants, mothers. The key new California laws for 2019 are related to lactation (AB 1976), occupational injuries and illness (AB 2334), meal periods for commercial drivers (AB 2610), Contracts: waiver of right of petition or free speech (AB 3109), Privileged communications and sexual harassment (AB 2770) and some others.