Driving under the influence (DUI/DWI in California) occurs when a driver operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol (blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater) or drugs (drug policy of California). What does it means? In fact, when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, while driving California's roads, you're considered legally impaired in the U.S. As you can see below, these limits may be even more stringent for drivers operating a commercial vehicle or those who are younger than 21 years. If convicted of driving under the influence (DUI or DWI) in California, the penalties you'll face may be $390 to $1,000 and additional penalty fines and legal fees depending on a number of previous convictions and offenses. Some drivers convicted of a DUI may need to file an SR-22 document with their insurance policy. In this case, finding a good or even great DUI or DWI lawyers in your area, is a must.
How to find an aggressive DUI & criminal defense attorney near you?
We will help you compare thousands of DUI or DWI attorneys in California based on your priorities and financial budget. The most expensive criminal defense lawyers in California may not be the best option for you and your traffic / criminal offense. Whether you are a first-time or repeat offender, a well-skilled California DWI (DUI) lawyer can help you protect your rights if you've been cited for drunk driving. So, what is the best way to find an experienced "drunk driving" lawyer?
Go on the internet, read relevant articles and reviews! Start on google - search results often shows reviews of real clients and trusted five-star ratings.
The most important factor you must consider is reputation. Great criminal defense lawyers in California or anywhere in the United States have a perfect reputation and other lawyers in area do not hesitate to recommend them. Following above steps will aid you in making a successful DUI/DWI lawyer choice. While comparing criminal law firms near you, do not forget to ask other lawyers in the area for recommendations as to the best DUI lawyers.
What skills are required for DUI & DWI attorneys in your area?
Firstly, every lawyer should have a passion for the work he do! Criminal law is a very specific and broad field of law, at least in the United States. Criminal defense lawyers must be confident, but also very responsible. Why? Because the reputation is just one and can be easily destroyed. The most experienced DUI lawyers in California are those, who know a very broad "criminal laws" and control a lot of legal skills each criminal attorney must already know at university. Those skills include: understanding paragraphs and written sentences, active listening and learning, social perceptiveness and coordination.
California drunk driving laws, limits, penalties, and consequences
A first DUI conviction under California law is a misdemeanor. Second or third offense means license suspension, probation or even jail (even the first offender may receive 48 hours to six months in jail).
- 0.08% or higher - 21 years old or older operating a regular passenger vehicle
- 0.04% or higher - operating a commercial vehicle
- 0.01% or higher - younger than 21 years old